(Please note that I am not involved in any way with the development of this decompiler. I’m just a satisfied customer)

The other day I was working on porting some legacy code to a new app server. One of the legacy classes was doing something odd, so I needed to look at the source code. Unfortunately, I only had the .class file. Eclipse will display the bytecode in a reasonably user-friendly format, but it’s kind of a pain to read unless you spend a lot of time reading disassembled bytecode (I don’t).

So, I searched the Eclipse marketplace for a Java decompiler, and found this:

https://marketplace.eclipse.org/content/eclipse-class-decompiler

I installed it, and it exceeds all my expectations. It works seamlessly with Eclipse; instead of displaying bytecode, Eclipse decompiles the .class back to Java and displays it. The only things missing are the comments.

I don’t use a decompiler very often, but when I need it, it’s typically in this kind of situation; I’ve inherited an oddball piece of legacy code, it’s behaving oddly, and I don’t have the source code. In this circumstance, a decompiler can make the difference between success and failure. It’s a very handy tool to have in the toolbox

